Betteridge’s law of headlines is one name for an adage that states: “Any headline that ends in a question mark can be answered by the word no.”

Heron Valley a Scottish band (?) have been the latest to come under attack from Glasgow SWP commissar Liam Turbett’s hand wringery blog. On “A thousand flowers” a blog named after chairman Mao of all people, they write accusing Herron Valley of fostering racism and excluding black people and Muslims.

The screen shot:

heron1

This is the offending song. It is quite folky but there is nothing in it that is racist at all. We will follow the story as it unfolds.

The lyrics of the song, that is actually called ‘home’ although it does mention ‘homeland’ in the lyrics.

 Home

Verse 1

Take this path from where you land

Forever you’ll be searching

Won’t you follow no-one

Follow me to get home

Won’t you ask someone to show you

You’ll feel hollow oh oh hollow

Find your way home

Chorus

Walk with me

By the sand and through the trees

I can show you to your homeland

Of your distant memories

Walk with me

Where you thought you’d always be

I can show you to your homeland

Verse 2

When you’re on your way, don’t go astray

Some people may mislead you

Won’t you follow no-one

Follow me to get home

Though the trail may be deceiving

In the chaos of your wandering mind

Close to your home.

Chorus

Walk with me

By the sand and through the trees

I can show you to your homeland

Of your distant memories

Walk with me

Where you thought you’d always be I can show you to your homeland

To your homeland

To your homeland

Verse 3

This is what you used to know

You know it isn’t knew

All you know oh know

This is your home

And the path that you have taken

Isn’t long until you’ll be at the end

Find your way home

Chorus

Walk with me

By the sand and through the trees

I can show you to your homeland

Of your distant memories

Walk with me

Where you thought you’d always be I can show you to your homeland

To your homeland

To your homeland

Bridge

Home, follow me home

Follow me home, follow me home

Follow me home, follow home,

Follow me home

Chorus

Walk with me

By the sand and through the trees

I can show you to your homeland

Of your distant memories

Walk with me

Where you thought you’d always be I can show you to your homeland

To your homeland

To your homeland

Chorus

Walk with me

By the sand and through the trees

I can show you to your homeland

Of your distant memories

Walk with me

Where you thought you’d always be I can show you to your homeland

To your homeland

To your homeland

Leave a Reply

